Cupcake Bouquet

So, I thought Mother’s Day was today. I had to work all day yesterday and today so on Friday I decided to make a bouquet of lemon cupcakes for my mom. I also offered to make a 2nd one in exchange for a donation of $25. I finished the bouquets Friday afternoon and then called my mom to see when I could deliver her surprise. That is when I found out that Mother’s Day is in fact next week. When Colin found out he simply said “that’s so Jennie”. The good news is that I had a blast making them, my mom loved it, and I got an extra donation out of it!

This recipe is definitely in my top 5 right now. I’ve made them twice in the last 2 weeks. The 1st time I used a cream cheese frosting and the 2nd I used buttercream. The buttercream was definitely the winner for this cupcake, and it made beautiful roses! This is the 2nd recipe I’ve tried from Sally’s Baking Addiction and I’m addicted!

20130505-210548.jpg

 

Lemon Cupcakes

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup sugar
2 eggs, room temperature
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 and 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup milk (I used 1%)
zest & juice of 2 “jumbo” lemons
Lemon Buttercream
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
3-4 cups powdered sugar
1/4 cup heavy cream
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt
zest & juice of 1 lemon
Directions
For the cupcakes
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line 1 tray with cupcake liners.
2. Combine dry ingredients together; flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.
3. Cream together butter and sugar for 2-3 minutes until very light.
4. Slowly stir the dry ingredients into the butter and sugar mixture. The batter will be thick and a little dry.
5. Add milk, lemon zest, and lemon juice until just combined.
6. Pour batter evenly into 12 cupcake liners.
7. Ask Siri to set a timer for 18 minutes. Bake until toothpick comes out smooth.
For the frosting
1. Beat the butter in the bowl of a stand mixer until smooth and creamy.
2. Add powdered sugar, cream, vanilla, salt, lemon zest, and lemon juice.
3. Beat on high for 3 minutes. Add powdered sugar until you reached desired consistency.
Notes
-If you over fill these cupcakes the batter will rise over the sides and brown quickly. If you look closely at my picture you’ll see what I mean. If you want them to be pretty, be sure not to over fill. On the other hand, that crispy part around the edge is one of my favorite thing about this recipe. Also, I found that this recipe make just over 12 cupcakes so feel free to grab another tray! Lastly, when you taste the batter don’t be scared if it tastes a little to “lemony” after baking some of the lemon taste goes away.
– You can make these with a vanilla buttercream by just leaving out the lemon zest & juice. I love lemon so I went all out!
-Wilton 1M tip
-recipe adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction
One thought on “Cupcake Bouquet

Leave a Reply

