Pre Disney Update

I feel like I should be writing a blog on how not to prepare for a marathon. On the way to dinner tonight my husband and I were talking about the marathon this weekend. He asked me what the furthest I’ve run is. Well, I’m embarrassed to say that the longest run I’ve completed is 15 miles. A few weeks ago I set out to run 20 miles and it was cut short by freezing rain. When I started the run it was just snowing, by mile 15 it was not safe for me to be running anymore. Besides not having a 20 miler under my belt, I haven’t even been as consistent as I should’ve been. Long story short, I am not nearly as prepared for this marathon as I should be. 

Here’s what I can tell you…I’m confident that I will finish the marathon, I’m not confident that I will run the entire thing. The event is in 4 days and I’m trying to come to terms with were I’m at. Here’s what’s crazy….at the beginning of the year I had never ran more than 9 miles and frankly it was hard for me to run 4 miles. Since I started training for the marathon I ran 10 miles for the first time ever in my life, I ran 10 miles again, I ran a half marathon, and I ran 15 miles multiple times. At the time each one of these thing was a huge accomplishment. Many people have never ran more than 10 miles, but faced with a marathon in 4 days I’m feeling anxious and disappointed in myself. I know I could’ve done better to prepare. I could blame it on the holidays and my hectic work schedule, but the truth is, I just had a really hard time motivating myself. It has been really hard to admit my lack of motivation because if I can’t get motivated for The Walt Disney World Marathon, I don’t know what else would motivate me!!

So, here I am admitting that I didn’t prepare as well as I could have. On the other hand, we have raised over $2,500 for The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society and I will cross the finish line whether I’m running, walking, or crawling and in the end, that is really all that matters. I will force myself to be proud of of what I accomplished last year and enjoy the time I have at Disney with my sister and our friends. 

In the words of Elsa from Frozen….

“It’s funny how some distance, makes everything seem small.
And the fears that once controlled me, can’t get to me at all
It’s time to see what I can do, to test the limits and break through.
No right, no wrong, no rules for me. I’m free!

Let it go, let it go.
I am one with the wind and sky.
Let it go, let it go.
You’ll never see me cry.
Here I stand, and here I’ll stay.
Let the storm rage on.”

Disney, here we come!!

One thought on “Pre Disney Update

Leave a Reply

