Homemade Glass Cleaner

A few years ago my sister ended up in the ER because she was having a hard time breathing. It turns out she was cleaning a bathroom with very little ventilation that aggravated her existing breathing issues. It was right after that incident that Colin and I made the switch to all natural cleaning supplies. The idea that cleaning supplies could put land you in the ER was a little insane to me. We have made little switches over the years but the first thing we switched was our all-purpose cleaner. We lived in Vermont at the time and Seventh Generation was very easy to find and affordable. After that we started swapping one thing at a time. We’ve found a good variety of natural, effective, and affordable cleaning products that have become staples in our home. I’m constantly learning more about the chemicals/ingredients in household items and I make more switches as I do.

One thing I hadn’t found a good substitute for is glass cleaner. To be honest I’ve been using Seventh Generation’s all-purpose cleaner on the windows and mirrors. It definitely leaves things streaky, but not enough to warrant the use of ammonia!

I’ve been pinning natural cleaning ideas to my Pinterest board for awhile but haven’t made the time to actually do any of them…until now!

Tonight I finally made my own glass cleaner. I can’t believe I didn’t do this sooner, seriously! It took me about 5 minutes to make and it left our glass front door completely streak free! It’s cheap, non toxic, and actually easier than going to the store. I already had the vinegar and corn starch so all I had to buy was the alcohol and the bottle. 

GlassCleaner

 

Here’s what you need: (recipe from whole new mom and Crunchy Betty)

2 cups warm water

1/4 cup rubbing alcohol

1/4 cup white vinegar

1 Tbsp. corn starch

1 empty spray bottle (found mine in the mop and sponge aisle of Target)

I used a large glass measuring cup to combine all of the ingredients and then poured it into my spray bottle.

 

Now I need to figure out what else I can make at home!

Leave a Reply

