DIY Makeup Remover Pads

I just finished up a package of facial wipes and decided it was time to try making my own wipes. I had all of the ingredients on hand and the whole process took less than 5 minutes. I was anxious to see how they worked to I put some waterproof mascara on and tried one out. It removed all of the mascara and didn’t sting at all. I was able to pack about 25-30 cotton pads into a 4 ounce mason jar so this jar should last me about a month. I’m very happy that I can cross one more thing off of my monthly Target list and about 10 more ingredients out of my daily beauty routine!

Here’s the ingredient list of the wipes I just finished…

Water, cetearyl alcohol, cetearyl isononanoate, cetearath-20, glyceryl stearate, glycerin, cetyl palmitate, panthenol, tocopheryl acetate, ceteareth-12, phenoxyethanol, sodium citrate, citric acid, disodium edta, benzoic acid, dehydroacetic acid.

Here’s the ingredient list for the DIY remover pads…

Water, almond oil, witch hazel, Vitamin E oil.

IMG_2997

 

DIY Makeup Remover Pads

2 tablespoons distilled water

2 tablespoons sweet almond oil

2 tablespoons witch hazel

10 drops of Vitamin E oil

25-30 cotton pads

4 ounce glass jar

Combine all of the ingredients in glass measuring cup and stir. Place half of the cotton pads in glass jar and pour half of 3/4 of the mixture over the pads. Push the cotton pads down towards the bottom of the jar with your fingers so they are getting fully soaked in the mixture. Place the rest of the cotton pads in the jar and then pour the remaining mixture over the top. Push down again with your fingers to condense the pads into the mixture.

Use over the top of your eyelids and around your eyes to remove makeup.

IMG_2999

I got the original recipe from whole new mom. I wanted these to be wipes so I just used the same recipe and incorporated the cotton pads into it. I understand that I could just use soap and water at night but truth be told, I’m lazy and want something easier. Also, soap and water always seem to require too much scrubbing in order to get waterproof mascara off. These work perfectly for my needs!

One thought on “DIY Makeup Remover Pads

Leave a Reply

